HELLO! – A TO Z

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away… No wait, that’s Star Wars.

Hi everyone! Welcome to my blog! I guess you could say this is the place where I just keep a record of all kinds of randomness that happen to me – mostly for my own benefit, I tend to be a very forgetful person!

Just in case you wanted to know – this is me! ->

17991523_10154293301471851_6072427939736161380_o

I’m going to be posting a variety of different blog posts – such as video/photo diaries, top ten lists, journal records, etc. – so keep checking back for something new every day! (Or whenever I remember to add to the blog…)

I had an idea though for my first post – probably not very original, but it’s a very good starting point for you to get an idea of who I am – I’m gonna do an A-Z of who I am! So here goes…

A – AVENGERS

I’m absolutely mad on Marvel – in particular, the movies, but also the comic books! And if anyone says a bad word against Captain America, I’ll have their head!

B – BACK TO THE FUTURE

My all-time favourite film. It’s just perfect – the story, the casting, the script, it hits all the right beats! Plus the scene where Marty McFly plays Chuck Berry is to die for, ooft…

C – CENTURION

My heavy metal band! I play the drums, fast and loose, and I’ve been a part of the Centurion family for the last two years. I don’t think I’m ever gonna leave!

17879899_10154276841171851_5674115806386921883_o

D – DREW

As in, my legal surname. Given to me by my dad, Chris, who sadly is no longer for this world. In everything I do, I try my best to make him proud.

E – EXTERMINATE

No, I don’t work as a rat catcher. It’s a reference to the Daleks – as I am a Whovian! I love both the classic series and the revival; and I’d have been damned if I missed the 50th!

F – FUDGE

No, I don’t actually like fudge all that much. I only used that word as an alternative to the f-word – as I do swear quite a lot. They’re not obscenities, they’re sentence enhancers!

G – GREEN DAY

Words cannot describe how much I love this band. I was born the day after Dookie dropped, and I know how to play every single song on guitar, bass AND drums.

Green-Day-LIVE-Perth-30-Apr-2017-by-Stuart-McKay-11

H – HAIR

Yeah, this changes VERY often. I’ve had any and every colour you can think of – including blonde, ginger, pink and purple AT THE SAME TIME. Currently, it’s a black mohican.

I – IMPRESSIONS

I do a fair few of them! Look out for a future blog post where I’m gonna stick a few of them up, but they range from Morgan Freeman to Kermit The Frog – via Markiplier!

J – JULY

As in, the month I was born. I’m a summer child! It’s great, means I generally have very good weather for a birthday barbecue – aside from that one year it SNOWED.

K – KISS THE CHEF

I’m actually a rather excellent cook. Not to sound big-headed or anything – my pièce de résistance has to be the ‘Russian roulette pigs-in-blankets’…

L – LAUGHING MAN

I’ve always thought that you can only really work well if you can be cheery about it. I’m always looking at the positives and enjoy making other people around me laugh!

M – MOTOGP

I’m an avid follower of motorsport – in particular, motorcycle racing. I’ve never been to a MotoGP event (though it’s on the agenda), but I regularly hit Donington for SBK and BSB!

motogp_07_donington_5_lge

N – NOTTINGHAM

Raised in Essex, but I moved to Nottingham three and a half years ago when I started at university. I’m not planning on moving back to Harlow any time soon!

O – ORIGINAL ENERGY

I write my own original music – Original Energy is one of my acoustic solo songs. I find it’s a great way to be expressive and also acts as a metaphorical ‘stress ball’.

P – PHOTOGRAPHY

I work a couple of different bars as a photographer – also the course I study at uni. It earns the cash, which is good as I’d be at the same bars even if I didn’t work there!

Q – QUIS CUSTODIET

It’s Latin for ‘Who watches the watchmen?’. It’s also the title of one of my side-project’s songs, and the song in question is about challenging authority when it’s in the wrong.

R – RED

It’s my favourite colour. It used to be blue, back when I was a Chelsea FC supporter – then it was orange when I alleged to Blackpool FC, now it’s red. Just because.

S – ST JIMMY

I am currently just beginning rehearsals for the stage musical based on Green Day’s American Idiot – but best of all, I was cast in my absolute dream role, St Jimmy!

50bfb7dbcad6f1b37de31fa0d236d83e

T – TAPLIFE

My local. My palace. My home. The Tap N’ Tumbler, or the Tap as it’s known to its regulars, is basically my favourite place in the world where I can see all my friends.

U – UP IN THE AIR

I used to be a member of the local Air Cadet squadron when I was a wee lad. I couldn’t complain – I got to shoot rifles, fly planes and I even won medals in cross country!

V – V FOR VICTORY

I am a VERY competitive person. Whether it’s video games or downing a pint, even racing my friends across town, I get very anxious unless I finish in first place!

W – WALES

Now, I may have been raised in Essex for 99% of my life, but I was actually born in Wales! Means I cheered loudly when we reached the semi-finals of Euro 2016 of course…

X – XXX

There’s many an experience of mine in which things have got … out of hand! Stories that are told in hushed voices around a pint of ale – if you ever see me, you may hear one!

Y – YOUNG AND FREE

I’ve always lived by the adage – ‘Age is a state of mind until you start wetting the bed again’. In other words, I always give 110% when I can, and will do until the day I die!

Z – ZIGGY AND DOTTY

My two cats. Ziggy the lad (pictured), and Dotty the lass. A right pair of trouble, but I loves them anyway. I always look forward to seeing them when I go home to see family!

12400931_10208374329541703_2362328048825595738_n

And there you have it – a decent grounding in who I am. Now it’s time to get into the good stuff…

N.B. – Oh, by the way, tickets for American Idiot at the Melton Theatre (Oct 3-7) can be found here -> AMERICAN IDIOT AT THE MELTON THEATRE <- much love!

Leave a Reply

